RSS Feed

While the Wife’s Away…

Posted on

The Slow Chef is a very generous man. He is more than happy for me to go away for a few days to visit family and friends (hmmm…). This week I had 3 nights in ol’ Sydney town.

Based on my visit to Sydney, here is a plan for the perfect day out:

  • Catch the train to Circular Quay, walk around to the Sydney Opera House, admiring the magnificent view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge as you go. Once at the Opera House, take a tour of this incredible building.
  • From the Opera House, wander through the Royal Botanic Gardens up to Macquarie Street. Once on Macquarie Street, be sure to look for number 133, History House. Not only is this beautiful sandstone building home to the Royal Australian Historical Society, but it is also the first home of The Slow Chef and I. About 20 years ago, we rented the top floor of the building, the old servants quarters.
  • From Macquarie Street head down Hunter Street to 330 George Street, opposite Wynyard station. A sneaky doorway next to the Peter Alexander store leads through to the upmarket Ivy complex. I recommend lunch at Sailors Thai at The Ivy where you can actually talk and be heard! The carpeted floor (so unique these days) means this chic restaurant not only looks gorgeous but is intimate and relaxing. Whilst not traditional Thai food, more Thai with an Australian twist, it is delicious. On my visit the restaurant was decorated with beautiful yellow orchids.
  • After an early lunch, catch the monorail to the Lyric Theatre at Star City and catch the matinee of Hairspray – The Musical. I’m a huge fan of all things musical and can honestly say this is one of the best shows I’ve seen. It’s definately heaps of fun.
  • Before the excitement of the show wears off, catch a cab to the Shangri-La Hotel in The Rocks and enjoy a cocktail or two, as the sun sets, at Blu Bar on 36. This is probably one of the best views in Sydney.

Just before I sat down to enjoy Hairspray, on above-mentioned perfect day, I received a text message from The Slow Chef “How do I grease a casserole dish?” Not the type of message I’m used to but I quickly phoned and suggested that he either coat the dish with melted butter or canola spray. “I’m cooking up a storm,” he declared. I’m pleased to advise he sounded incredibly happy. I think he sent me to Sydney just to have the kitchen to himself!

Later that evening I received a photo text message announcing the kids had rated his Chicken Mornay Bake a 9 out of 10. Perfect comfort food for a winters evening in…whilst I had a fantastic dinner out!

Leave a Reply

